fastest 5000 runs in IPL

Fastest 5000 Runs In IPL

Do you know which players have scored the fastest 5000 runs in IPL? Well, you might get surprised by some names in the list.

It’s a tough task to score runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL), which is also known as the most competitive cricket league worldwide. Tough schedules, strong bowling attacks, and changing pitches make it difficult for batsmen to score runs. Hence, reaching 5,000 runs in IPL is considered as a great achievement by any player because it shows their consistency, adaptability, and sheer brilliance.

Players name list with 5000 IPL Runs

Below, we will give you a list of the fastest 5000 runs in IPL match by innings.

Player Name IPL Team Innings to reach 5000 runs
David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 135
Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 137
AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore 161
Shikhar Dhawan Delhi Capitals/ Delhi Daredevils 168
Suresh Raina Chennai Super Kings 173
Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians 187

Players Who Scored 5000 Runs in IPL

As of the 2024 season, only six players have scored more than five thousand runs in their IPL career. Check out the IPL 5000 run player list below:

  • David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capital/Delhi Daredevil)
  • Suresh Raina (Chennai Super King)
  • Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indian)

This small group of players are some of the biggest names in cricket today; this should give you an idea how big an accomplishment scoring this many runs would be. There are no legends such as MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh or Chris Gayle or even Sachin Tendulkar on that list so it really does show just how hard getting there is.

Players fastest to reach 5000 IPL Runs

It is not just about reaching the milestone but also about doing it at a break neck speed. Here are players who got there the fastest:

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 135 Innings

Leading the list of fastest 5000 runs in IPL is an explosive Australian opener. David Warner known for his aggressive batting style reached five thousand runs in one hundred thirty five innings which till date remains as the most rapid achievement in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL). He did it during IPL 2020 while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 157 Innings

On second in the list of fastest 5000 runs in IPL, we have former Indian captain Virat Kohli. He stands second among fastest players to complete five thousand runs in IPL career. Although he couldn’t hold on to being ‘the quickest’ title holder, but still his consistency with bat and exceptional batting skills helped him getting past this milestone in one hundred fifty seven innings played till now. This happened during the 2019 season for Royal Challengers Bangalore. This is why he is known as the king of IPL.

AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 161 Innings

At number three is veteran South African cricketer AB de Villiers who made this record playing unconventional shots all around the park with his audacious stroke play while representing different teams throughout years spent so far in Indian Premier League (IPL). De Villiers took exactly 161 innings at the crease before crossing the 5000 mark thus showing that the scoring rate matters more than anything else sometimes too.

Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi Capitals/Delhi Daredevils) – 168 Innings

The elegant left-hander, Shikhar Dhawan, finds his place on the list after accumulating 5,000 runs in 168 innings. Dhawan, who has donned the jerseys of both Delhi Capitals and Delhi Daredevils throughout his IPL career, has consistently delivered with his opening partnership performances.

Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings) – 173 Innings

The ‘Mr. IPL,’ Suresh Raina, holds the distinction of being the first batsman to reach the 5,000-run mark in the IPL. While not the fastest, Raina’s achievement in 173 innings for Chennai Super Kings is a testament to his remarkable consistency and ability to adapt to various batting positions.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) – 187 Innings

The ‘Hitman,’ Rohit Sharma, the former captain of Mumbai Indians, rounds out the IPL 5000 run player list. Though he took 187 innings to reach the coveted milestone, his impact on the game remains undeniable. Sharma’s leadership and explosive batting have been instrumental in Mumbai Indians’ success throughout the IPL seasons.

If you love IPL and T20 cricket, then you can earn big with T20 betting.

Related Articles:

For more IPL-related information, you can check on Purple cap in IPL.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top